Handmade Burgers

I was in Auckland yesterday with some friends who are locals and in the know about where to get a good vege burger. After hearing about my blog idea, they suggested a visit to Handmade, a snazzy, hip joint at 455 New North Road, Kingsland. Check our their website here.

This wasn’t just a good vege burger, this was an INSANELY good vege burger. I thought, screw the blog, I can’t comprehend anything ever topping this burger, it was that good, and I wasn’t even especially hungry.

Handmade had a range of vege burgers, I followed the Aucklanders in choosing the Vegan Falafel:

          “Panfried falafel with hummus & plum sauce, avocado, handmade salad & vege relish, all on             a fresh toasted bun”

Okay, the burger was $11.90, which is perhaps going to be one of the most costly burgers I will review, but keeping in mind this is a gourmet burger not your average fish and chip shop job. As I ended up in Auckland not intending to sample a burger I was without scales, but fair to say this burger was pretty hefty.

The only things that fell out of the burger while eating it were parts of burger, bits of falafel and salad. A bit of sauce even fell out of my friend’s burger and got her right down the leg. No fat or grease dripping out of this one.

Were there any downsides to this burger? $11.90 is kinda steep, that’s more expensive than the vege and vegan burgers from Burgerfuel, but this burger was pretty damn amazing. Furthermore, being a Hamilton resident means that Handmade Burgers will remain a novelty for me, something to sample and savour when I’m up in the big city. Needless to say, this burger gets a 9 out of 10.

For many of my friends at least, Hamilton etiquette dictates a visit to Wendy’s when in Auckland, but to the vegetarians, vegans and omnivores alike, you should try to check out Handmade Burgers, I’m sure their meat burgers are pretty sweet too. They even had a squeezy bottle of spicy sauce you could take back to your table to drown your burger in. Awesome.

Leave a comment