Sea Kraft

So your humble explorer finds himself in a car with four friends on the journey home after a weekend conference in Wellington. Consensus decision making lands the car in Taupo for a dinner break and bathroom stop. The opportunity to vege-burger-review is on. 

Image

While waiting for our orders the attention of our group was drawn to the incredibly drab decor of the place. Now while this is irrespective of the quality of a vege burger, it was adequately noteworthy to have been scrawled on my little torn off edge of newsprint I used as a my notebook. 

The numbering system was also oddly interesting. My friend was number 90 and her meal was up first, I was number 39 and wondering where I fit into this, as my two other friends were numbers 02 and 06. I do appreciate the -most likely unintended- quirkiness of this system.

The burger was $4 and as I was without scales, I could only guess that it was around the average weight of fish and chip shop burgers, not especially light or heavy. The visually identifiable ingredients were egg, mushroom, sliced pineapple, onion, cheese, coleslaw and sauce. Nothing too weird in here, but nothing great either. 

The main taste was the coleslaw, and while eating the burger, brown fluid dripped out onto the paper on the table, presumably from the mushroom and egg? This burger was hard to eat, it was a tad soggy and after eating it my fingers weren’t very dry. 

I would have to rate this burger a 3.5 out of 10. This burger wasn’t the cheapest for what it was and sits at the lower end of the generic takeaway store burger range. That said, the staff were pleasant and having a break from otherwise long car ride was pretty choice. 

 

Leave a comment